Home > avoidant, book > Book review

Book review

September 6, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

From the book: “Cognitive Behavior Therapy of DSM-IV-TR personality disorders” (second edition- 2006) by Len Sperry:

“Because of their underlying sensitivity to criticism and their mistrust of people, these patients have become masters of testing their psychological environment [really? wow! how cool is that?! I can read people’s mind!] to ascertain which individuals will be positive [errr…someone positive? I see none] or at least neutral [no, it should be “at best, neutral”] toward them and which ones are likely to criticize, tease, or emotionally challenge them [the list is too long…]” (p.79-80).

“Clinical experience shows that having these clients specify how modifying distorted interpretations and changing behaviors will help them achieve their desired outcomes enhances their self-determination, mindfulness, and acceptance in anxiety-provoking situation.” (p.84-85)
I think that’s what happening with me?! I do stuff I am not really really  fond of because I don’t have the choice if I want to get better: it’s this or…this. I begin my masochistic period – I wonder how many months, years, it will last.

“Repeated experiences of “staying with” strange emotions engender emotional tolerance and reduce their  hypersensitivity while modifying maladaptive beliefs about experiencing uncomfortable emotions.” (p.85)
Repeated over and over and non stop. Don’t stop. Never stop or I might regress and that possibility scares me.

“… patients may need to be encouraged to act “as if” they are confident, assertive, and likable.” (p.86) 
It
comes back to “Action comes before feelings”. Let’s pretend I want to go to X to meet Y! Yeah! :-//    And I have to look nice and pleasant, happy to be with Y. Okay, so it requires from me to be masochistic And hypocritical. Awesome! :-///

“Assisting patients in integration their current beliefs with their earlier interpersonal experiences helps them understand that their social fears and expectations resulted from both their experience of how they were parented and their temperament.” (p. 89) 
I’m shy. That’s a fact. I like to be alone. That’s a fact too. Plus I have AvPD.

And if one day I get bored:
“They could try to identify any situations they might have avoided that week and analyze the obstacles and interfering thoughts encountered. Or they might look ahead at the coming week and predict which situations could be troublesome and plan ways to cope with possible avoidance behaviors.” (p.90)
I’m trying to think about one. What/who did I avoid last  week?? Almost everybody at the uni that I know. Why? lol  They would have spoiled my day an made me angry..and I do everything to be positive.
Next week? Troublesome situation: Go hiking with people I never met in my life.

“Clinicians may find it useful to have avoidant patients think about and talk through the following questions: What can I do if I find myself resorting to avoidant patterns? What should I do if I start believing in my old avoidant beliefs more than my new beliefs? What should I do if I relapse?” (p.90)
-___- Can’t be more optimistic than that. I haven’t started yet that they already talk about the relapse. But they are good questions. Not for the moment though.

Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

