Home > avoidant, therapy-summer10 > Group session/AvPD-shyness

Group session/AvPD-shyness

Last Wednesday, I finally said to the members of my group therapy what I’ve been keeping for myself. It wasn’t easy at all – I cried a little but not as much as I thought I would cry. I felt bad and under scrutiny during the entire session. When the session was over, I kind of tried to hide my breast. I was ashamed. I felt bad for the following hour and then poufff…vanished! As if nothing has ever happened, as if I didn’t tell them my secrets. All this vanished! I thought about this today – on my way to the meeting – how I would feel, how I would face them against now they know. To my great surprise, I didn’t think about it At All. It was a normal meeting – I didn’t feel especially ashamed, I didn’t feel like hiding. I was more in the state of mind: “If you don’t like me, if you don’t want to see me, you can leave. I don’t care. Actually, it would be better for both of us, if you could leave”. My reaction really really surprises me. I thought I would be very uncomfortable around them or threatened. It wasn’t the case at all. I don’t get it, to tell you the truth. I don’t understand how I could be that “cool” after having given weapons and ammunitions to destroy me to the members of the group. I don’t get it. I feared soooo much their animosity.
That’s a HUGE progress! It also shows me that what I think of people is wrong. >.< but it’s part of the process.

Also, the therapist made comments to each of us. It’s only now that he makes me doubt about things I considered as certain and this for months. For instance, he told me that he never diagnosed that I was suffering from Avoidant Personality Disorder. Actually, he told me that he thinks I’m just shy. O.o
He let me say, and this for weeks and weeks, that I am suffering from AvPD to finally tell me now that I may be wrong/right. He thinks I use it as an excuse, as a defense mechanism. In THE book about AvPD, there may be 2 or 3 sentences that don’t correspond to my situation, beside those 2, 3 sentences, all the sentences of the 296 pages of the book are about Me. It’s my biography!! To this, my therapy answered: “yes, and there’s this great book, The Bible, where I can see myself..”. -_-  I don’t *want* to have AvPD but since I know I have this AvPD, all makes sense. Why I do this or that, what is my logic… it all makes sense.
What if he was right????????? What would it change for me?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

