Home > articles, postaweek > It’s scientifically proven

It’s scientifically proven

Another article that proves that your brain is kind of basic and that You play an important part in how you perceive the world. Just use the right words.

Before we continue, let’s look at how the brain processes these sensory images: The brain is extremely literal and in fact, the brain cannot see or process a negative.  If I say to you: “Stop smoking”, what is the first image that enters your mind’s eye? A smoking cigarette!! Another example: I say: “Don’t fall!”  The image that enters your mind’s eye is you falling, then your brain alters the image to one of you stopping or sidestepping. In other words, the brain cannot NOT see or do something. A blind, visually impaired, or deaf person will have the same difficulty in processing negative information.

Back to visualization: When you visualize the amygdalae, the literal brain believes that you are seeing your amygdalae. That is why you can feel the sensation when you tickle them with an imaginary feather, and why you have the physiological sensation of electrical currents running down your forehead when you visualize clicking them forward and switching on the prefrontal cortex.  When I feel any intense emotion (especially negative emotions), I click forward and experience an immediate sense of calm, a definite physiological sensation, nothing esoteric about it.  If my internal dialogue continuously tells my literal brain that I will get sick, then I will get sick; if I constantly fear failure and visualize failure, I will fail; if I believe that I will succeed and visualize meeting the right people and being in the right place at the right time, guess what ?. I will succeed against all odds.  Nothing esoteric about it: if I feed my brain the right images through visualization, my brain will sensitize me to recognize the right qualities in the people who may help me, to recognize the patterns in events that may help me reach my goal, sensitize me to the right key words in literature to find the right articles and books to read, etc.

Excepts taken from Neil Slade’s website.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

