Home > hurricane > There’s going to be a what?

There’s going to be a what?

About 4 or 5 days ago meteorologists showed us 10 potential tracks for the hurricane Irene. Out of the 10 tracks, 6 were crossing Connecticut right in the middle, 2 were nearly missing Connecticut and 2 others were heading East, away from the American East coast and staying in the Atlantic Ocean. So we have 8 chances out of 10 to be seriously and severely hit by Irene. And sure enough that’s what is going to happen.

Tomorrow, the hurricane Irene will directly hit Connecticut. Actually, it will simply and purely cross Connecticut from south to north passing right in the middle of the state. If one looks closely to the maps provided by NOAA, the eye of the hurricane will go right towards our state capital. Since yesterday we are in state of emergency. Everybody is getting prepared to face this extraordinary hurricane [Going back to 1851, there have been only 5 hurricanes whose centers of circulation have passed within 75 miles of New York City. The last hurricane within that distance from New York City was Hurricane Gloria 26 years ago]. Since yesterday also, you can’t find in stores either bottles of water, batteries, candles or generators. All gone! Yesterday, the governor declared that both mandatory and voluntary evacuation were underway and I received two phone calls from my town to tell me that at 6pm they will open a shelter in my town – in case I want to evacuate or have to evacuate. Indeed, here we don’t have any evacuation routes and, even if we drive for 30, 40 or even 60 miles, we’ll still be hit by the hurricane which is said to be as wide as Europe.

I subscribed to 2 alert services. This way, I’ll receive instant text alerts to let me know about bad weather, road closings, local emergencies, etc. But I don’t hold out much hope as usually there’s one or two reception bars on my cell phone, I expect to have no bar at all during the hurricane.  Ah, and on my cell phone, I entered my “ICE” (In Case of Emergency) contact.

Here’s what the Red Cross says people need before the storm:

  • Water: at least a 3-day supply; one gallon per person, per day. (4Gal)
  • Food: at least a 3-day supply of non-perishable, easy-to-prepare food
  • Flashlight 2 + 10 candles
  • Battery-powered or hand-crank radio my Ipod nano has the radio
  • Extra batteries
  • First aid kit I bought one for hiking
  • Medications: 7-day supply
  • Multi-purpose tool
  • Sanitation and personal hygiene items
  • Cell phone with chargers
  • Copies of personal documents: passports, birth certificates, etc. in waterproof containers
  • Family and emergency contact information
  • Extra cash
  • A whistle to signal for help. Errr…
  • Local maps + my GPS

+ my car tank filled

Irene will be my first (last?!) encounter with a hurricane; a rather long encounter as Irene is supposed to hit the state of Connecticut for about 12 long hours. Hopefully everything will go well… in chā’ Allāh!

Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

