Home > soda > Soda free for one year

Soda free for one year

Sometime last week (I am not sure of the exact date) there was a major anniversary in my life. Okay, it’s not the kind of thing most people think of as a cause for celebration, but it’s something I never would have thought could happen. I drank my last sip of soda, sometime in late February 2011. I’ve been soda free for one year. I didn’t really plan to quit drinking soda completely though. In fact, I just wanted to see if I could do without it… and I can. At the time when I decided to stop drinking soft drinks I couldn’t drink a whole can of soda. It was already too much for me; I drank instead small cans of diet soda. I never drank water except when I was at the gym and I wasn’t at the gym every day. No wonder I always felt crappy – and could it be a reason I never had perfectly clear skin? I don’t know whether it is linked or not but my skin looks much better now.

What do I drink now? Sparkling water turned out to be a very good alternative to soda: it is sparkling (bubbles), refreshing, it does not have sugar, caffeine or calories and it is a lot cheaper. It seems stupid to say that but I feel better because I am consuming less junk.

How I did it? Thanks to Doctor Oz’s program. I scrupulously followed his “28-day soda challenge”. Read more about it on this previous post.

Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

