Home > daily post, postaweek > Witness Protection

Witness Protection

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Witness Protection. When you do something scary or stressful — bungee jumping, public speaking, etc. — do you prefer to be surrounded by friends or by strangers? Why?”

In my opinion, there is a big distinction between scary situations and stressful ones.

Let’s talk about public speaking. To me that is a very stressful moment and I remember one in particular ;  I was at the time treated for clinical depression but I was still very self-aware and paranoid. On top of all that I am a shy person. As I was saying I had to make a presentation, a short one, but still a presentation in English (I’m French) in front of 300 American students. A nightmare. I was so nervous, stressful and uncomfortable, I would have given anything to be elsewhere. A nightmare. I survived and I wanted to forget about this experience as soon as it was over. I didn’t want to think about it or to talk about it. So the best solution was to have No known witness of this stressful situation so that it can fall into oblivion in the blink of an eye.

Bungee jumping? Well, I haven’t done that yet but I skydived. I invited my friend to come and see me not jump (I was way too high up in the sky) but land after jumping from an airplane. Unfortunately she couldn’t be there on time but I would have appreciated a lot to jump with her. Actually, I could have done it with anybody: a friend or  a stranger, as long as I jumped. It was so awesome! I want to skydive again!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

